Data Science in Perioperative Care

You are here:

  • Data Science in Perioperative Care.

Data Science in Perioperative Care

The Department of Anaesthesiology and Operative Intensive Care Medicine of the Charité is one of the largest in Europe. More than 66,000 anesthetic are performed and 26,000 ICU patients are treated per year - with an ever growing stream of clinical data being recorded in the Electronic Health Record (EHR).

The multidisciplinary working group on “Data Science in Perioperative Care”, led by PD Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Felix Balzer, anesthesiologist and computer scientist aims to enhance clinical utilization of this data stream to improve patient safety and the quality of healthcare delivery.  

 This includes

  1. Facilitation of personalised medicine by developing predictive models and AI systems for clinical decision support for the treatment of critically ill patients.
  2. Moving towards value-based healthcare: meaningful use of EHR for patient centered care with focus on clinical quality, resource utilisation, and clinical practice improvement.
  3. Implementation of the concepts of internet of medical things and ubiquitous computing to ensure accessibility of data relevant to medical decision through clinical workflows, leading to a targeted provision of information on an as-needed basis.
  4. Establishment of remote monitoring devices (wearables) for perioperative Fast-Track Protocol avoiding prolonged ICU stay
  5. Development of medical applications that use standards such as Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) to link to existing EHR systems to support interdisciplinary Health Information Exchange and Health Information Interoperability in the perioperative setting.
  6. Research in medical user-experience and sociotechnical factors of human-machine interaction to enable fast and efficient information transfer between human and machine in a high-reliability setting such as the ICU or OR

Our working group comprises interdisciplinary experts with a background in anaesthesiology, intensive care medicine, psychology with a focus on high-stakes decision making and decision support, medical product development and implementation into clinical workflow, medical UX design, data visualisation, biomedical data management and analysis, and machine learning.

By complete utilisation of the current clinical data stream and by enhancing human-machine interaction to the next level, our goal is to ameliorate the quality of perioperative care, to foster rapid and lasting recovery from surgery.

Projects

Staff Acceptance of Remote Patient Monitoring on ICU (SARPI): an observational study with accompanying ICU staff survey

The aim of the study is to evaluate the user acceptance of a remote patient monitoring system (VitalSync, Medtronic) as part of its implementation on a PACU (Post-Anesthesia Care Unit). 

Remote monitoring technology significantly changes the work profile of ICU staff and largely determines the characteristics of their workflow. Therefore, research of the integration of remote patient monitoring into the daily work routine in the ICU can not only provide meaningful results related to the specific technology, but can also show how technological advances influences medical practice in general.

The SARPI study is intended to contribute to the optimal exploitation of the potential of new digital infrastructures in the future and to create the conditions for a sustainable technology transfer (initiating the development and implementation of new technologies in the perioperative environment).

The continuous re-evaluation of the remote patient monitoring technology by the end users, enables its continuous optimization in terms of a user-centred development. Qualitative research methods such as guideline-based interviews and quantitative methods in the form of standardised online questionnaires are used for this purpose.

Publications:

Poncette, Akira-Sebastian, Claudia Spies, Lina Mosch, Monique Schieler, Steffen Weber-Carstens, Henning Krampe, and Felix Balzer. “Clinical Requirements of Future Patient Monitoring in the ICU: A Qualitative Study.” JMIR Medical Informatics, December 23, 2018. https://doi.org/10.2196/13064.

Prizes and Awards

Research to Market Challenge: Research-based business idea of the AG Data Science in Perioperative Care receives award

An interdisciplinary team of physicians, computer scientists, user experience researchers and psychologists from the Department of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine CCM/CVK, and the Department of Geriatrics and Geriatrics of the Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin has developed the Augmented Reality Cockpit for Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine (ARCAI). ARCAI, which was submitted under the leadership of Dr. Akira-S. Poncette and Dr. Johannes Starlinger, provides interactive and demand-oriented information about intensive care patients, for example about their blood pressure or oxygen saturation in the blood. The tool should also help to analyse the tendency of vital data and to support decisions at the hospital bed in the intensive care unit and in anaesthesiology with predictions. In the "Digital" category, ARCAI received the second prize worth 1,000 euros. With the prize money, the ARCAI team can now test the previous models and concepts with augmented reality glasses in an intensive care environment.

The competition was open to students, graduates, doctoral students and scientific staff from all departments of the Charité and the three major Berlin universities. Their business idea had to have a clear relation to the participants' field of work and be put into practice. The concepts were evaluated by a jury with regard to innovative content, research relevance, feasibility and customer benefit.

The participating scientists of the Charité were: Prof. Dr. Dr. Felix Balzer, Dr. Niklas Keller, Dr. Akira-Sebastian Poncette, Dr. Johannes Starlinger and Dr. Anika Steinert. Further information on the winners can be found here.

Members of the group

  • Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Felix Balzer
  • Dr. med. Oliver Birkelbach
  • Dr. med. Lukas Dehe
  • PD Dr. med. Falk von Dincklage
  • Dr. med. Oliver Hunsicker
  • Dr. rer. nat. Niklas Keller
  • Dr. med. Oliver Kumpf
  • Dr. med. Rudolf Mörgeli
  • PD Dr. med. Bruno Neuner
  • Dr. med. Akira-Sebastian Poncette
  • Dr. med Matthes Seeling
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Claudia Spies
  • Dr-Ing. Dr. med. univ. Johannes Starlinger
  • Prof. Dr. med. Sascha Treskatsch
  • Dr. med. Gerald Vorderwülbecke
  • Dr. med. Björn Weiß

Contact

Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Felix Balzer

AG Data Science in Perioperative Care

Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin | Campus Charité Mitte

Charitéplatz 1 | D-10117 Berlin

Data Science in Perioperative Care

Sie befinden sich hier:

AG Data Science in Perioperative Care

Die Abteilung für Anästhesiologie und operative Intensivmedizin der CharitéUniversitätsmedizin Berlin ist eine der größten in Europa. Pro Jahr werden mehr als 66.000 Narkosen bzw. Interventionen durchgeführt und 26.000 Intensivpatienten behandelt - mit einem stetig wachsenden Strom klinischer Daten, die in der elektronischen Patientenakte (EHR) erfasst werden.

Die multidisziplinäre Arbeitsgruppe Data Science in Perioperative Care unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Felix Balzer, Anästhesist und Informatiker, hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die klinische Nutzung dieses Datenstroms in Hinblick auf Patientensicherheit und Qualität der Gesundheitsversorgung zu verbessern. 

Dazu gehören:

  1. Förderung von personalisierter Medizin durch die Entwicklung prädiktiver Modelle und Nutzung künstlicher Intelligenz zur Unterstützung der klinischen Entscheidungsfindung bei der Behandlung kritisch kranker Patienten
  2. Im Rahmen von Value-Based Healthcare sollen Informationen aus dem EHR für eine patientenzentrierte Behandlung mit Fokus auf klinische Qualität, Ressourcenverwendung und Verbesserung der klinischen Praxis verwendet werden
  3. Implementierung der Konzepte Internet of Medical Things und Ubiquitous Computing, um relevante Informationen gezielt dann zur Verfügung zu stellen, wenn sie für medizinische Entscheidungsfindungen wichtig sind
  4. Etablierung von tragbaren Remote Monitoring Devices für perioperative Fast-Track-Protokolle zur Vermeidung längerer Aufenthalte auf der Intensivstation
  5. Entwicklung von Anwendungen, die Standards wie z.B. Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources (FHIR) verwenden, um so den interdisziplinären Austausch und die Interoperabilität von Gesundheitsinformationen im perioperativen Bereich zu unterstützen
  6. Erforschung der medizinischen Usability und soziotechnologischer Faktoren der Mensch-Maschinen-Interaktion, um einen schnellen und effizienten Austausch von Informationen zwischen Mensch und Maschine an Orten wie dem OP oder der Intensivstation zu ermöglichen, die ein hohes Maß an Zuverlässigkeit erfordern.

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe besteht aus interdisziplinären Experten aus den Bereichen Anästhesiologie, Intensivmedizin, Psychologie mit den Schwerpunkten Entscheidungsfindung und Entscheidungsunterstützung, Medizinproduktentwicklung und Implementierung in den klinischen Workflow, Medical UX Design, Datenvisualisierung, biomedizinisches Datenmanagement und -analyse sowie Machine Learning.

Durch die vollständige Ausschöpfung des aktuellen klinischen Datenstroms und die Verbesserung der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion ist es unser Ziel, die Qualität der perioperativen Versorgung zu verbessern und eine schnelle und dauerhafte Genesung nach der Operation zu fördern. 

Projekte

Staff Acceptance of Remote Patient Monitoring on ICU (SARPI) Beobachtungsstudie mit begleitender Mitarbeiterbefragung

Ziel der Studie ist die Evaluation der Nutzerakzeptanz eines Patienten-Fernüberwachungssystems (VitalSync, Medtronic) im Rahmen seiner Implementierung auf einer PACU (Post-Anesthesia Care Unit). 

Die Technologie des Remote Monitorings ändert das Tätigkeitsprofil des Fachpersonals auf der Intensivstation wesentlich und bestimmt weitgehend die Eigenschaften ihres Arbeitsablaufs. Deswegen kann die Erforschung der Integration der Patienten-Fernüberwachung in den Arbeitsalltag auf der Intensivstation nicht nur aussagekräftige Ergebnisse in Bezug auf die spezifische Technologie liefern, sondern auch aufzeigen, wie technologische Fortschritte die medizinischen Tätigkeitsfelder im Allgemeinen beeinflussen können.

Die SARPI-Studie soll dazu beitragen, dass das Potential neuer digitaler Infrastrukturen in Zukunft optimal ausgenutzt werden kann, und die Voraussetzungen für einen nachhaltigen Technologietransfer (Bahnung von Entwicklung und Implementation neuartiger Technologien im perioperativen Umfeld) geschaffen werden.

Die ständige Re-Evaluation der Patienten-Fern-Überwachungstechnologie durch die End-Nutzerinnen und -Nutzer ermöglicht ihre kontinuierliche Optimierung der im Sinne einer nutzerzentrierten Entwicklung. Hierzu werden qualitative Forschungsmethoden wie leitfadengestützte Interviews sowie quantitative Methoden in Form von standardisierten Online-Fragebögen genutzt.

Ausführlichere Einführung in das Projekt auf YouTube unter diesem Link

Preise und Auszeichnungen

Research to Market Challenge: forschungsbasierte Geschäftsidee der AG Data Science in Perioperative Care ausgezeichnet

Ein interdisziplinäres Team aus Ärzten, Informatikern, User Experience-Forschern und Psychologen von der Klinik für Anästhesiologie mit Schwerpunkt operative Intensivmedizin und der Klinik für Geriatrie und Altersmedizin der Charité hat das Augmented-Reality-Cockpit für Anästhesiologie und Intensivmedizin (ARCAI) entwickelt. ARCAI, welches federführend von Dr. Akira Poncette und Dr. Johannes Starlinger eingereicht wurde, informiert interaktiv und bedarfsgerecht über Patienten der Intensivmedizin, zum Beispiel über ihren Blutdruck oder die Sauerstoffsättigung im Blut. Das Tool soll außerdem helfen, die Tendenz der Vitaldaten zu analysieren und Entscheidungen am Krankenbett auf der Intensivstation und in der Anästhesiologie durch Vorhersagen zu unterstützen. In der Kategorie „Digital“ erhielt ARCAI den zweiten, mit 1.000 Euro dotierten Preis. Mit dem Preisgeld kann das ARCAI-Team nun die bisherigen Modelle und Konzepte mit einer Augmented Reality Brille in einer intensivmedizinischen Umgebung testen.

Am Wettbewerb konnten Studierende, Absolventinnen und Absolventen, Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aller Fachbereiche der Charité und der drei großen Berliner Universitäten teilnehmen. Ihre Geschäftsidee musste einen klaren Bezug zum Arbeitsgebiet der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer haben und sich in die Praxis umsetzen lassen. Die Konzepte wurden von einer Jury im Hinblick auf Innovationsgehalt, Forschungsbezug, Realisierbarkeit und Kundennutzen bewertet.

Die beteiligten Wissenschaftler der Charité waren: Prof. Dr. Dr. Felix Balzer, Dr. Niklas Keller, Dr. Akira-Sebastian Poncette, Dr. Johannes Starlinger und Dr. Anika Steinert. Weitere Informationen zu den Preisträgern finden Sie hier.